A bright sunny day matched the spirits of this year’s Chesapeake Outstanding High School Scholars, as they gathered for the first time on July 17 at the Chesapeake Student Center. More than 75 guests attended the welcome event, which included opening remarks by President Edna Baehre-Kolovani and Provost Lisa Rhine.

President Edna Baehre-KolovaniAcademically gifted, Outstanding High School Scholars receive tuition assistance for up to 12 credits a semester. They also serve as student ambassadors for the campus, assisting peers in registering for classes, as well as serving at campus events and commencement.

Diamond Hall, who plans to study business said, “I’m thrilled to have my education paid for, and I like volunteering and that’s part of this. I’m looking forward to getting going.”

“I love it here. This is a great opportunity, and I’m so blessed to be accepted into this program,” added Aliza Florrido, who plans to study science and become a physical therapist.

“I like the easy transition. I started taking classes this summer, and it’s going really well,” said Kasie Miller, who hopes to become an accountant.

Returning scholars Katie Lange and Kat Nako share their stories with new scholars.
Returning scholars Katie Lange and
Kat Nako share their stories with new scholars.

Annette Miller, mother to Kasie, chimed in with, “This is an overwhelming opportunity. Kasie didn’t want to start college far from home. She will do well here.”

Chesapeake Outstanding High School Scholars are Chris Chyzik, Grassfield High; Ashley Conover, Deep Creek High; Jarret Flint, Grassfield High; Aliza Florrido, Indian River High; Sergio Fuentes-Calderon, Great Bridge High; Diamond Hall, Oscar Smith High; Alexandria Justice, Western Branch High; Kathryn Lange, Oscar Smith High; Sarah Lambert, Indian River High; Joshua McCarter, Chesapeake Center for Science and Technology; Kasie Miller, Hickory High; Katherina Nako, Great Bridge High; Naija Powell, Chesapeake Center for Science and Technology; and Taylor Zimmerman, Hickory High.